Close

Databases

Library card number required for access outside of the library.

Florida Electronic Library

Search Florida Electronic Library free online resources by A-Z titles, subjects, grade levels, eBooks and most popular titles. Search Magazines, Books, Newspapers and More . . . Explore your options of the 200+ databases to choose from!

Law Library:

Thomson Reuters Westlaw Patron Access

Online legal research. (Access is available from inside the Lakes Region Library only)

Genealogy:

American Ancestors by New England Historic Genealogical Society (NEHGS)
Access available only at Lakes Region Library. Donated by the Citrus County Genealogical Society.
The New England Historic Genealogical Society, founded in 1845, is the country’s oldest genealogical organization, devoted to collecting, preserving, and publishing genealogical and historical matter relating to New England families. (Access is available from inside the Lakes Region Library only)
Ancestry Library Edition
With over 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases for conducting genealogical and history research.
(Access is available from inside the Library only)
HeritageQuest Online

HeritageQuest Online provides users with a unique, growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. (Library card number required for access outside of the library)

Homework Help:

We know homework can be tough. That’s why we’ve put together these database resources to help you succeed on your homework assignments and improve your grades.
* Web sites designated with an (*) must be opened with Internet Explorer.

P.S. Don’t forget to Ask a Librarian if you’re really stumped!

Junior Reference Collection
The ideal curriculum-based database for students middle grades. Students have quick access to accurate information on the most-studied subjects: science, literature, arts, biographies and general reference, among others.
Kids InfoBits
Primarily for students in Kindergarten through Grade 5, featuring a visually graphic interface, subject-based topic tree search, and full-text magazine, newspaper and reference content.
Read the Books
Citrus County elementary and middle school Accelerated Reader and Reading Counts book lists.
Student Edition
Now with over 1100 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.